The French and British Forts of Toronto – A Bicycle Tour (2018)
Saturday, May 5, 11 am to 1 pm
Bicycling is a unique and exciting way to view Toronto's early history. Fort York, in partnership with Jane's Walk and Heritage York's Lambton House, hosts this event, beginning at Lambton House, at the edge of the Toronto Passage (or Toronto Carrying Place) trail. From there, we will ride to Teiagon, the site of the 17th-century Seneca village and the Magasin royal of 1720. Following the Humber Bicycle Trails south, we will stop and explore the site of Toronto's second small French fort. Continuing along the Martin Goodman Trail we will go to where Fort Rouillé, the last French Fort, once stood. The tour will end at Fort York, a British fort and the place where urban Toronto (then York) was founded. The bicycle tour is free and includes free admission to Fort York National Historic Site.
The tour starts at Lambton House, 4066 Old Dundas St (416 767-5472).